SBWGA-18 Golf Year Culminates in the Cactus Classic

Christine Smith with her clay cacti creations

Christine Smith with her clay cacti creations

Sherry Fitzpatrick, 2020 Overall Net Winner, with Jane Chanik (left) and Troy Jewkes

Sherry Fitzpatrick, 2020 Overall Net Winner, with Jane Chanik (left) and Troy Jewkes

Venetia Hobson Lewis

The last major tournament of the year 2020 for SBWGA-18, The Cactus Classic, played over three days of golf in mid-November on all three nine-hole courses. Our golfers participating in this low net tournament were divided into five flights, all named for varieties of cactus. This test of skills and endurance did not deter Sherry Fitzpatrick who was the Overall Net Winner with a terrific total net score of 208.

Flight winners included:

Saguaro Flight: First, Debbie Green; Second, Judy Melo; Third, Lisa Graff

Chollas Flight: First, Ret Convey; Second, Carol Fizzell; Third, Sandi Chester

Ocotillos Flight: First, Kathy DeMerritt; Second, Geri Sandilands; Third, Lynn Stewart

Hedgehogs Flight: First, Barb Verbus; Second, Geri Conser; Third, Judy Fick

Prickly Pears Flight: First, Yolanda Niemann; Second, Cathe Kropp; Third, Susan Sterling

Congratulations go to the Tournament Chairs Christine Smith, Angie Denahan, and Carol “C. J.” Johnson for organizing this outstanding tournament.

In addition to the winners named above, our club charity for this year, Youth On Their Own (YOTO), came away a really big winner. Christine Smith, an accomplished clay potter, created ten whimsical clay cactus statues that were swept up quickly in a silent auction that raised $1,735, which was doubled by another YOTO donor for a total of $3,470 for TOYO.

The year 2020 has not been without its challenges for businesses as well as individuals. In our 18-hole women’s golf league, we are thankful that our sponsors have participated with us throughout the year and we wish to thank them.

Major Sponsor: Coyote Golf Cars, John Hanson, Owner

Gold Sponsors: AIM Mail Center. Lani Baker, Owner; American Family Insurance, Terry Korte Agency; Andy’s Irrigation, Andy McInnis and Mitch McInnis, Owners; Creative Smiles Dentistry, Dr. Jeannie Ju, DDS; Fairway Cooling and Heating LLC, Brian McCulloch, Owner; First Inspection Service, Inc., Tyler Morgan, Owner; Happy Saguaro LLC, Edgar Castillo, Owner; Long Realty, Kathy Minx, Realtor; Northridge Dental, Dr. Todd Haft; Oro Valley Eye Care, Robert Mitchell; Park Avenue Jewelers, Todd Wacks, President; Trilogy Electric LLC, Larry Stuart, Owner; Windows of Greater Tucson, Inc., Patrick Doherty, Owner

Silver Sponsor: Inspired Wellness Tucson, LLC, Lisa Talev

Bronze Sponsor: Sherry Fitzpatrick; and Closest to the Pin Donations: J S Designs LLC, Jo Sauvageau, Owner; and Quality Paint & Body (Dale Enterprise), Matt Dale, Owner.

SBWGA-18 looks forward to more golf tournaments and more camaraderie on the golf courses in the coming year 2021. Happy holidays.

It’s time to tee up!