SaddleBrooke Men’s Putters

Schwab Tourney winners

Schwab Tourney winners

John Martin

The SaddleBrooke Men’s Putters (SBMP) Group, entering its nineteenth year, enjoyed a wonderful year in 2015. Membership grew to 123 putters and in addition to the weekly, quarterly and annual competitions, the first Jeff Shields/Charles Schwab Company Senior Men’s Putting Tournament was hosted by the SBMP in November.

Jeff Shields has sponsored the group for more than 15 years. His first tournament was a huge success, with 13 teams from SaddleBrooke and other area communities. Over $3500 in awards, prizes and gifts were presented and a luncheon in the Vistas Dining Room followed the competition. The tournament had net proceeds of $500 which were donated to the American Diabetes Association in Mr. Shield’s name. The event was so successful that plans are underway to have a sequel event in the fall of 2016.

Throughout the year, the SBMP held quarterly breakfasts to recognize the quarterly gross and net winners. Following the year-end Schwab Cup playoffs for the quarterly gross winners in January 2016, the SBMP had their annual awards breakfast on February 4, 2016. The fourth quarter Schwab winners, the fourth quarter net putting winners, the year-end Schwab Cup Tournament champs and the other annual winners were recognized with prizes.

The fourth quarter Schwab winners were First Place Fred Kennedy; Second Place Bob Gabric and Third Place Joe Leone. The fourth quarter net putting winners were: First Place Rudi Faller; Second Place Joe Leone and Third Place Mark Aaron.

Winners of the Charles Schwab year-end playoffs were: First Place Bob Gabric; Second Place Harlan Hobbs and Third Place Jim Jevne. The annual awards recipients were: Bob Bowlin Award (best average gross), Harlan Hobbs; Syd Eagle Award (highest ace average), Fred Kennedy; Al Storey, Most Aces winner; Richard Spitzer, the Attendance Award and Dennis Holt, Most Improved Putter award.

Putters meet on the putting green at SaddleBrooke HOA 1 on Thursday mornings. Presently we practice at 9:30 a.m. and our tournament begins at 10:00 a.m. New members and guests are always welcome. Each member establishes a handicap and weekly prizes are awarded for various categories.

Please come and play a round of putting with us. All you will need is a golf ball and a putter. We will provide the fun and fellowship.

Officers, Chairmen and Assistants For 2016

President Harlan Hobbs; Vice President Dan Williams; Secretary Larry Kraber; Treasurer Randy Spencer; Tournament Director Stu Shemer


Secretary Assistant John Underwood; Treasurer Assistant Don Graf; Tournament Assistants Fred Kennedy And Jim Jevne; Social Chairman Dave Hydeman; Social Assistant Bob Hoffman; Membership Chairman Jack Porteous; Membership Assistant Dave Good; Publicity Chairman John Martin; Statistician Chairman Richard Spitzer; Statistician Assistant Dennis Holt; External Activities Chairman Don Stone