Part 24: About Argentine Tango operas and symphonies

Lidia and Hector Legrand

If you are interested in learning more about Argentine Tango and Tango events in SaddleBrooke, please visit our website where you can also read Parts 1 through 23 of this series.

It has been hard for Argentinean classical music composers to gain acceptance in international circles for reasons beyond the scope of this brief article.

However, one Argentine Tango Opera and one Argentine Tango Symphony both composed by Astor Piazzolla1 (undisputedly one of the great composers of the 20th century) are now routinely performed internationally:

The Opera María de Buenos Aires premiered in Buenos Aires in 1968. About an hour and a half long, you can watch three minutes of it here:

The Symphony The Four Seasons of Buenos Aires (Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas) consists of four compositions.

Verano Porteño (Buenos Aires Summer) written in 1965

Otoño Porteño (Buenos Aires Autumn) written in 1969

Primavera Porteña (Buenos Aires Spring) written in 1970.

Invierno Porteño (Buenos Aires Winter) written in 1970.

You can watch it here:

About Lidia and Hector: Argentina born U.S .Citizens and SaddleBrooke residents, founding members of SATS, chartered in both HOAs. They travel to Buenos Aires often to dance Argentine Tango, to participate in International Argentine Tango Festivals and to further refine their Argentine Tango teaching skills. 2015 is Lidia and Hector’s twelfth year as SaddleBrooke Argentine Tango Dance Instructors of both group and private students. They have been teaching Argentine Tango dancing for sixteen years. They also offer seminars and workshops on Argentine Tango music, history, culture and cuisine. Please visit their website: