Warren Stephens wins 2015 SMGA President’s Cup

Warren Stephens, 2015 President’s Cup Champion

Warren Stephens, 2015 President’s Cup Champion

Gary Averett

The 2015 SaddleBrooke Men’s Golf Association final tournament of the year is the President’s Cup always played in December. Warren Stephens finished the three day tournament with an overall low net score of 206, one stroke better than the second overall low net score by Bob Gabric at 207. He averaged a net score of 68.66 strokes per round. Well done.

The tournament is a net-only event flighted into six flights named for previous presidents of the SMGA. Thus, the winner can come from any flight that has the lowest overall net score for the three days. There were 69 members who played in the tournament and each day the tournament committee paid the four lowest net scores in each flight. There were payouts to 46 players in the six flights for the prize pool of $2,000. Exactly two-thirds of the field won some of the prize pool money.

First and second place winners in the various flights were Avery Flight, Warren Stephens first place with J.R. Salladay and Mike Turner tied for second; Baravik Flight, Bob Soerens first and *** Modos second; Toney Flight, Gary Running first and Chris Costello and Len Kirklin tied for second; Tessitore Flight, Gary Hillerud first and Brad Adair second; Adair Flight, Bob Gabric first and Don Molitor second and in the Robison Flight, Gary Clapp first and Jim Deblock second.

The overall winner, Warren Stephens, and the flight winners were all recognized in an Awards Dinner held in the Vistas at the end of the tournament. Congratulations to all the winners and all who participated in the tournament. This year’s tournament will be held November 30 and December 3 and 7.