This year’s individual match play champion


Bob Edelblut

The MPMGA has always had a difficult time running a special event in the desert’s summer months. Our snowbird population is long since gone and our full-time residents are either scheduling lengthy trips or hiding out to escape the heat. Nonetheless, 32 brave souls answered the calls of Special Event Director Don Erickson and signed up to play in our Individual Match Play Tournament. All deserve a hearty thank you!

Thankfully, almost all players showed up for the first round of play on August 6 and the math worked out perfectly as the field was divided into four eight-player flights. The format for this year’s event was just like prior years. A player’s handicap index and personal tee selection were the basis for determining his flight selection. A Consolation Bracket would be formed to allow all first-round losers an additional opportunity to continue playing and hopefully win something. All flight winners would compete among themselves to determine the overall winner. Are you ready for the results?

The four Consolation Bracket winners were Dennis Marchand, Mark Kunnen, Terry Marchione and Ed Skaff. If the final score of a match is an indication of how well the participants performed then it is safe to say these four won hard fought matches. Congratulations to one and all!

The four flights winners were Scott Davis, Roland Dell, Rick Fernandez and Darryl Henderson. In two of these finals the match was not determined until the last hole and in another it took an extra hole. Great golf, gentlemen! You made it to the playoffs.

Darryl Henderson and Rick Fernandez prevailed in the first round of the playoffs. Henderson bested Scott Davis by a score of 3 and 2 and Fernandez beat Roland Dell 3 and 1. More great golf? Do either of you have any fuel left in your tanks? The answer is obviously yes. Darryl Henderson defeated Rick Fernandez in the finals on the 20th hole. What a glorious ending to another MPMGA special event. Thanks again to all who played.