SBWGA 18-Holers Finish 2023 with Festivities

2024 SBWGA Board of Directors: Front row: Judy Briney, Sandi Chester, Cathe Kropp; back row: Nancy Sartor, Suzanne Stone-Griffith, Kay Cruise, Janice Hoover, Reenie Romey, Maire Ryan (photo by BJ Murray)

Ellen Avenoso

The SBWGA 18-Holers never let an opportunity pass to compete and to celebrate and 2023 was no exception. On Dec. 5, 86 women competed to “beat the pros” (our head pro Jane Chanik and our 2023 president Nancy Sartor). The pros scored a net score of 72. Twenty-seven teams beat them by a score of 71 or better.

We celebrated at our last official meeting of the year by recognizing 18 past presidents who were in attendance and by installing the 2024 board of directors: Cathe Kropp (president), Maire Ryan (vice president), Janice Hoover (secretary), Sandi Chester (treasurer), Reenie Romey (Tuesday Play Day chair), Suzanne Stone-Griffith (Handicap chair), Kay Cruise (Membership chair), and Judy Briney (Special Tournament chair). Our retiring president Nancy Sartor will remain on the board as advisor to the board of directors. We also recognized the great support we get from SaddleBrooke One: Manager Vivienne Timian, our greenskeeper Mike Philips, our Director of Golf Mike Roddy, our pros Molly Fullerton and Jane Chanik, our food service manager Trish Rogers, and our Pro Shop staff employees.

The following week, on Dec. 12, we held our annual Ace of Aces Tournament where each of the Gross and Net Aces of the Month get to compete for the year’s honors. It was a beautiful day, and the winning Gross Ace of Aces was Helen Graham. The winning Net Ace of Aces was Carol Sturman.

Our January Tuesday Play Day sponsors are Susan Penninton, First Inspection, G&K Entryways, Westerner Products, and Andy’s Irrigation.