SaddleBrooke Men’s Putters news

Annual winners

Annual winners

Schwab Tourney winners

Schwab Tourney winners

John Martin

The SaddleBrooke Men’s Putters had their annual meeting January 29 at the SaddleBrooke Clubhouse. This was the first meeting for our new President Harlan Hobbs. The 2014 winners of the Charles Schwab year end tournament were announced. Jim Jevne won first place, Harlan Hobbs was second and Sam Sollenberger was third.

There was also recognition for other 2014 accomplishments. The Bob Bowlin Award (best average gross) went to Harlan Hobbs. The Syd Eagle Award (highest ace average) was awarded to Howie Fagan. Larry Kraber had the most aces for the year with a total of 43. Richard Spitzer attended 42 of the 44 rounds and had the best attendance. Richard Spitzer also won the most improved putter award by improving an average of 1.76 strokes per round.

Jeff Shields of the Charles Schwab Company is a sponsor of our organization. We are working with Jeff to try to organize putters groups at other communities like ours in the Tucson and Phoenix areas. We have had putters from Heritage Highlands putt with us on the SaddleBrooke putting green. We would like to have interclub competition and end the year with a tournament.

The goals are still very flexible and a lot of details have to be determined. However, when the plans become reality, it should add a new dimension to our activities.

Our group meets on the putting green at SaddleBrooke on Thursday morning. Presently we practice at 9:30 a.m. and our tournament begins at 10:00 a.m. New members and guests are always welcome. Each member has a handicap and weekly prizes are awarded for various categories.

Please come and play a round of putting with us. All you will need is a golf ball and a putter.

Officers, chairmen and assistants for 2014 are President Harlan Hobbs, Vice President Dan Williams, Secretary Larry Kraber, Treasurer Randy Spencer and Tournament Director Stu Shemer.

Committee chairs and assistants are Secretary Assistant John Underwood, Treasurer Assistant Don Graf, Tournament Assistants Fred Kennedy and Jim Jevne, Social Chairman Dave Hydeman, Social Assistant Bob Hoffman, Membership Chairman Jack Porteous, Membership Assistant Jim Obear, Publicity Chairman John Martin, Statistician Chairman Richard Spitzer and Statistician Assistant Dennis Holt.