Robson Challenge trophy stays in SaddleBrooke

Robson Challenge 2016 Winning Team returns with Robson Challenge Trophy

Robson Challenge 2016 Winning Team returns with Robson Challenge Trophy

Diane Mazzarella

The MountainView/Preserve Lady Niners (MPLN) once again won the Robson Challenge Trophy. PebbleCreek hosted this year’s tournament that included golfers and pros from the Robson Communities of SaddleBrooke, PebbleCreek and Quail Creek. SaddleBrooke and PebbleCreek fielded two teams each for a total of five teams competing on March 9, 2016. SaddleBrooke’s two teams were the Preserve and MountainView. A and B flights played the Palms course and C and D flights played the Falls course.

Thirty-two MPLN golfers left SaddleBrooke at 7:00 a.m. for PebbleCreek and all were grateful to sponsor Charles Schwab and Vice President and Branch Manager George Schwab for providing a luxury Gray Line bus for transportation for the event.

The Preserve team, with head Pro Mike Jahaske, won first place in the team competition six strokes ahead of the second place team. Overall individual winners for the Falls course were Karen Koch (low gross) and Holly Riviere (low net). Flight winners were Linda Rouse (A – first), Barb Smith and Diane Mazzarella (B – tie for second), Raye Cobb (C – first), Karyle Steele (C – second), Carie Scalzo, Pat Mersy and Marilyn Horn (C – tie for third) and Caroline Whitt (D – third). Hole contest winners were Linda Rouse – closest to pin, Caroline Whitt and Linda Rouse – longest putt and Pat Steffens – longest drive.

The busload of tired but happy golfers enjoyed the sunset as they approached home and arrived back at the MountainView Clubhouse around 7:30 p.m. after a successful day.