New Leadership for Local Organization Serving Homeless Youth

Katrina Calderon, Marketing & Outreach Manager

Youth On Their Own is proud to announce the new board leadership positions for the Fiscal Year 2020-21:

President: Jay Peskoe, Automotive Gold

President-Elect: Sean Denlinger, NOVA Home Loans

Past President: Deb Salaiz, Raytheon

Treasurer: Julie Stevenson, Otsuka Pharmaceutical

Secretary: Eva Murzaite, Interiors In Design

Youth On Their Own (YOTO) is led by a volunteer board of directors from Tucson’s private and social sectors. Board members serve a minimum of three years and provide crucial oversight and strategic direction for the organization.

“Being a board member at Youth On Their Own has been one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve ever had,” shared incoming President Jay Peskoe. “To hear many of our YOTO students say they would not have been able to graduate from high school if it was not for the support, love, guidance, and the monthly financial assistance that they receive from YOTO makes all the work that we do worthwhile. It is truly an honor and a privilege to serve as YOTO’s President.”

Outgoing president, Deb Salaiz shared, “The past year has certainly presented many challenges. However, YOTO is fortunate to have a great leadership team and generous and loyal community support. Jay will bring tremendous passion as our next President.”

“Youth On Their Own is well-positioned to support our students during COVID-19 and beyond because of the stellar leadership of our board of directors,” shared CEO Elizabeth Slater. “Under Deb’s leadership, we stabilized during a period of great uncertainty. With Jay’s vision and energy, we’re charting a new path forward that ensures our students continue to receive the basic needs and guidance they rely on from YOTO through COVID-19 and beyond.”

Youth On Their Own is a Tucson-based 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization that supports the high school graduation and continued success of youth experiencing homelessness by providing financial assistance, basic human needs, and guidance. The full board of directors list can be found on our website at