MountainView Bridge Club – February 2015

Stephanie Parks

I trust all are ready for the Phoenix President’s Sectional at the ASU West Campus in Glendale, Arizona, February 13 through 16. What, you say? You just finished this one. Well, that’s true, and we had a few winners to brag about at our local sectional in the beginning of January. Steve Maltzman and his lovely partner Donna DePesa racked up 22.63 points, several of which were earned the hard way; he and Donna won first overall at the Open Pairs game on the very first day; Jeffrey Lesser picked up 19.98 points and Marian Rogge 11.95. Joyce Hagin and Larry Reich came in first overall at the Saturday afternoon 199’er Pairs Games. Good bridge, you guys. There was a total of 2239.10 points earned by 473 of the 542 competitors. If you haven’t had enough competition, remember we have the Pueblo Regional from February 23 to March 1 at the Holiday Inn Palo Verde.

We had nine days of play in December and averaged just a bit more than nine tables per game. It was announced that we have changed the parameters for our Flights, to wit: Flight A – as always, unlimited; Flight B – 750 to 1499; and Flight C – 0 to 749.

Our winners in December were:

A Flight: Donna DePesa/Steve Maltzman (three); Darwin and Kay Afdahl (73.15% first game of the month)(three); Chris Alpitz/Ellen Dilbert; Arlene and John Mayfield (two); Barbara Feeley/JoAnn Aiken; Jeffrey and Sheila Lesser (three), including Club Championship; Vicki Hanson/Dean Frost (two); Robert Brussel and Blanche Waldstreicher

Special Alert: On December 12 we had a Stac Game—our biggest game of the month with 15 tables—and the winners in both directions won across the board were Betty Meyer and Bob Murray sitting N/S and Pamela Thaut and Barbara Dever sitting E/W, for which each pair received more than two silver points.

B Flight: Roberta Eisman-Goldstein/Stephanie Parks; Betty Meyer/Robert Murray (three); Vicki Hanson/Marian Rogge; Tom Baker/John Wolfe; Jean and Michael Moir; Loretta Wood/Michelle Werley (two); Loretta Wood and Terry Coe; Al Spaet and Barbara Dever; Betty Edwards and Midge Miller; Fay Kallina and John Wolfe.

C Flight: Patrick Schifano/Bob Parker; Ron Morris/EricVonderheid; Roberta Eisman-Goldstein and Stephanie Parks (three); Sonnie Davis and Peter Godfrey; JoAnn Ellison and Barbara Starrett; and Jean and Michael Moir.

All details can be found at the website, We play every Tuesday and Friday at 1:00 p.m. in the Mariposa Room at the DesertView Theatre building, open to everyone. Feel free to join us.