CycleMasters’ annual dinner dance recap

Ted Belanger

Our annual event was held this year on March 7 and was a great success thanks to the committee of Joanne Marmon, Diana Luthy and Patsy Chase. Starting with a social hour in the Big Horn Dining Room, the 80 members enjoyed a fabulous dinner of prime rib or sea bass prepared to perfection and served by the excellent staff on hand. During the break between the main course and dessert, our special award ceremony was held.

Awards were presented to the first time Over the Hill riders, which is a bike ride over SaddleBrooke Boulevard down to Oracle Road and back, with the Saturday group. Also mentioned were the numerous riders who have ridden their bikes over 5,000 miles during the past year. We also acknowledged the Most Improved cyclist, Jackie Hall, for her commitment to cycling during the past year. The top award for Cyclist of the Year given to the cyclist who displays the true value of the CycleMasters for community service, volunteering for special events, promoting the Club and ride participation. This award was given to Dan Hoshino! Finally – the President’s Award was given to the person who has devoted numerous hours and months to the club’s service projects, which includes being the organizer of the Progress delivery group – given to Jack Giovenco!

The evening ended with fantastic dancing music to the Pacific Breeze band. A great time was had by all!