2017 Member – Member Stroke Play Champions are Bill Grow and Dan Linegar

Left to right: David Cohen, Dan Linegar, Mike Jahaske, Bill Grow

Left to right: David Cohen, Dan Linegar, Mike Jahaske, Bill Grow

Bob Edelblut

When the MPMGA Men’s Club plays its Member-Member Stroke Play Tournament you know that summer is just around the corner. This year’s two day event was held on May 17 and 18 and it was obvious that many of our snowbird friends had left town early to beat the heat! Not to worry, 78 players or 39 two-man teams did battle for the championship. The field was grouped into five flights determined by the tees you chose to play and the handicaps you carried and the format was really simple. The team that produced the lowest net score in a flight was its winner and the team that produced the lowest net score overall won the championship. Lots of prizes were awarded!

Shel Jahn and Tom Fitzgerald won Flight 1 with a net score of 128, two shots better than second place finishers Dennis Marchand and Don Plapinger. Flight 3 was won by Tom Beahan and Tony Blunt who posted a net of 125. Fred Kjar and Dan Schroeder took second in the flight with a score of 128. In Flight 4 Terry Marchione and Scott Newberry were winners with a score of 134 and the team of Mark Connell and Darryl Henderson was second with a net of 137. Jim Ketring and Phil Noll won Flight 5 with the score of 130 just two shots better than Pat Gilmore and Deno DeBacco who finished second. Fabulous golf, gentlemen; congratulations!

No, I did not forget Flight 2. Four teams in Flight 2 had net scores of 126 or better—super golf. Two teams in Flight 2 were tied with the tournament’s lowest score of 123—unbelievable. Yes, there can only be one winner and on a match of cards the team of Bill Grow and Dan Linegar bested runners-up Bob Stiens and Mark Kunnen. It can’t get any better! Congratulations over and over! See you all next year.