2014 M-PMGA President’s Cup tournament results

Fred Dianda (right) and club Pro Mike Jahaske

Fred Dianda (right) and club Pro Mike Jahaske

Dan Schroeder and Bob Eder

A large field of 97 players grouped into nine flights competed in the club’s second major individual tournament of the year, the President’s Cup, on April 16 and 17. What makes this event special is the club takes the time to recognize our past presidents with complimentary golf, lunch and a few words from our current President Dennis Marchand to remind our members what these leaders did to give us the club we have today. Our presidents formed a receiving line to congratulate each of our flight winners and our Overall Champion Fred Dianda who shot a net 66 at The Preserve on day one and a net 65 at MountainView on day two. Still he narrowly beat out Dan Alderman by one shot. Dan shot a net 62 on day two. The Handicap Chair has taken note of these excellent scores and will be keeping an eye on these guys!

The other flight winners were Bob Eder, Rick Fernandez, John Borchert, Dennis Halsey, Tony Jewett, Dan Alderman, Tom Creager and Al Tracy.

For both days there were hole-in-one competitions for a new Lexus automobile and a Golf Cars of Arizona golf cart. On day two Bob Ogle hit the pin and the ball bounced three feet away on the par three 8th hole just missing out on the Lexus. Bob said he even liked the color of the car; but alas not even a hubcap—and he still lost the $10 for closest to the pin when Don Erickson rolled the ball just inside his mark. Maybe next year!